π₯ Grant's Triple Wood 12
The version of Grant's Triple Wood with the higher number in its name: a blended Scotch matured in a sherry cask, American oak and bourbon refill casks.
Grant's Triple Wood 12 is a blended Scotch whisky from the Grant's brand (Grant's), the oldest-named version of the Triple Wood line. The official site describes it as matured in three types of wood, but does not explain what the number 12 in the name means, and does not state the strength.
According to the official site, the casks are: a sherry cask, American oak and a bourbon refill cask. This makes it the only expression in the line where sherry is named directly. The producer describes a sweet sherry nose with dried fruit, vanilla, honey and spice on the palate, and a long warm finish. The whisky is produced by the family company William Grant & Sons.
Why it matters to you. If the sherry cask influence interests you, compare this version with the base Triple Wood and Triple Wood 8, where the cask set is described differently. Check the age on the label of the specific bottle, as the site gives no explanation. WHO reminds us that there is no safe level of alcohol consumption.
Facts
| Year founded | the Grant's brand has been sold since 1898 |
|---|---|
| Legal basis | Scotch Whisky Regulations 2009 (SI 2009/2890): Scotland, oak casks up to 700 l, at least 3 years, at least 40% ABV |
| EU category | whisky (Annex I of Reg. (EU) 2019/787, category 2) |
| Raw material | blend of Scotch whiskies; composition not specified |
| Cask type | sherry cask, American oak, bourbon refill cask (official site) |
| Minimum maturation | the official site does not explain the age; by law at least 3 years |
How it connects to Spirits
π₯ Grant's Triple Wood 12 β kind of β π₯ Whisky β kind of β π₯ Spirits
Links
- Packed in
- π· Oak barrel, π· Sherry, π American white oak, π₯ Ex-bourbon barrel
- Made from
- π₯ Barley and malt in whisky
- What it contains
- π· Ethanol
- What it affects
- π· Alcohol and health, π· Drunk driving
- Part of
- π₯ Grant's, π₯ Whisky, π₯ Blended Scotch Whisky, π₯ Scotch Whisky
- Similar and different
- π₯ Glenfiddich, π₯ Johnnie Walker, π₯ Grant's Triple Wood 8, π₯ Grant's Triple Wood 8, π₯ Grant's Triple Wood, π₯ Grant's Triple Wood
Frequently asked questions
Is it true that Triple Wood 12 is aged for 12 years?
The manufacturer's site does not claim this: the name contains 12, but the site does not explain what it means. Check the label.
Which casks are used in Triple Wood 12?
A sherry cask, American oak and a bourbon refill cask, according to the official site.
How does it differ from the base Triple Wood?
According to the official site, in the cask set: this one includes a sherry cask, while the base version uses new oak, American oak and bourbon refill casks.
What to read next
- π· Alcohol and health β Alcohol in any drink is harmful in large amounts, and the risks grow with the quantity.
- π· Ethanol β The alcohol formed during fermentation that makes you drunk.
- π· Oak barrel β A wooden barrel of oak staves in which wine matures and breathes.
- π American white oak β A North American oak that gives wine strong vanilla and coconut notes.
- π₯ Johnnie Walker β Scottish blended whisky owned by Diageo; the brand's story starts with John Walker's grocery shop in Kilmarnock, opened in 1820.
Similar
π₯ Grant's Triple Wood Β· π₯ Grant's Triple Wood 8 Β· π₯ Cutty Sark 12 Year Old Β· π₯ Haig Gold Label Β· π₯ The Glenturret Triple Wood Β· π₯ Mackmyra Brukswhisky
β οΈ Spirit drinks contain alcohol and are for adults only. Alcohol harms health. Do not drink during pregnancy or before driving; check the label for ingredients and possible allergens.
Sources
- Grant's (official site): Triple Wood 12 (sherry cask, American oak, bourbon refill)
- Grant's (official site): Triple Wood (range context)
- The Scotch Whisky Regulations 2009 (SI 2009/2890), reg. 3: definition and categories of Scotch Whisky (Scotland, oak up to 700 l, min. 3 years, min. 40 % ABV)
- WHO/Europe: No level of alcohol consumption is safe for our health (04.01.2023)
