🥃 Grant's Triple Wood 8
An age-stated version of Grant's Triple Wood: a blended Scotch aged for at least 8 years in three types of wood.
Grant's Triple Wood 8 is a blended Scotch whisky from the Grant's brand with an age statement: according to the official site, it is aged for at least 8 years. It differs from the base Triple Wood by age, and from Triple Wood 12 by a shorter maturation. The strength is not given on the manufacturer's page.
It is produced by the family company William Grant & Sons. The whisky matures in casks of three types of wood rather than the usual two, and each adds its own note: sweetness, vanilla and spice. The site does not list the names of the three woods for this expression. Like any Scotch, the whisky must by law contain at least 40% ABV.
Why it matters to you. If the base Triple Wood does not suit you, this version is the first step towards an older blend in the same line. The producer describes notes of fresh fruit, vanilla oak and a light smoke. Compare it with other blended Scotches by the age on the label. WHO reminds us that there is no safe level of alcohol consumption.
Facts
| Year founded | the Grant's brand has been sold since 1898 |
|---|---|
| Legal basis | Scotch Whisky Regulations 2009 (SI 2009/2890): Scotland, oak casks up to 700 l, at least 3 years, at least 40% ABV |
| EU category | whisky (Annex I of Reg. (EU) 2019/787, category 2) |
| Raw material | blend of Scotch whiskies; composition not specified |
| Cask type | three types of wood (per the official site, names not given) |
| Minimum maturation | at least 8 years (official site) |
How it connects to Spirits
🥃 Grant's Triple Wood 8 → kind of → 🥃 Whisky → kind of → 🥃 Spirits
Links
- Packed in
- 🍷 Oak barrel
- Made from
- 🥃 Barley and malt in whisky
- What it contains
- 🍷 Ethanol
- What it affects
- 🍷 Alcohol and health, 🍷 Drunk driving
- Part of
- 🥃 Grant's, 🥃 Whisky, 🥃 Blended Scotch Whisky, 🥃 Scotch Whisky
- Similar and different
- 🥃 Glenfiddich, 🥃 Johnnie Walker, 🥃 Grant's Triple Wood 12, 🥃 Grant's Triple Wood 12, 🥃 Grant's Triple Wood, 🥃 Grant's Triple Wood
Frequently asked questions
Is it true that the 8 in Triple Wood 8 means age?
Yes. The official site states: aged for at least 8 years.
Which casks are used in Triple Wood 8?
Three types of wood; the names are not given on the manufacturer's page.
What is the strength of Triple Wood 8?
The manufacturer's page does not state it; by law Scotch must be at least 40% ABV.
What to read next
- 🍷 Alcohol and health — Alcohol in any drink is harmful in large amounts, and the risks grow with the quantity.
- 🍷 Ethanol — The alcohol formed during fermentation that makes you drunk.
- 🍷 Oak barrel — A wooden barrel of oak staves in which wine matures and breathes.
- 🥃 Johnnie Walker — Scottish blended whisky owned by Diageo; the brand's story starts with John Walker's grocery shop in Kilmarnock, opened in 1820.
- 🥃 Grant's Triple Wood 12 — The version of Grant's Triple Wood with the higher number in its name: a blended Scotch matured in a sherry cask, American oak and bourbon refill casks.
Similar
🥃 Grant's Triple Wood · 🥃 Grant's Triple Wood 12 · 🥃 Haig Gold Label · 🥃 Dewar's White Label · 🥃 Haig Dimple 15 Year Old · 🥃 Dewar's 15 Year Old
⚠️ Spirit drinks contain alcohol and are for adults only. Alcohol harms health. Do not drink during pregnancy or before driving; check the label for ingredients and possible allergens.
Sources
- Grant's (official site): Triple Wood 8 (aged a minimum of 8 years in three woods)
- Grant's (official site): Triple Wood (range context)
- The Scotch Whisky Regulations 2009 (SI 2009/2890), reg. 3: definition and categories of Scotch Whisky (Scotland, oak up to 700 l, min. 3 years, min. 40 % ABV)
- WHO/Europe: No level of alcohol consumption is safe for our health (04.01.2023)
