🥃 Jim Beam Original
The main Jim Beam version (white label): Kentucky straight bourbon, 40 % ABV; according to the producer, 4 years in new charred oak barrels.
Jim Beam Original is the main version of the Jim Beam brand, known for its white label: a Kentucky straight bourbon with a strength of 40 % ABV, according to Difford's Guide. The producer states that it matures for 4 years, which is twice as long as the law requires for straight bourbon.
Like any bourbon, Jim Beam Original is made from a mash with at least 51 % corn and matures only in new charred oak barrels. The producer mentions limestone-filtered water but does not disclose the exact grain recipe. The main distillery is in Clermont, Kentucky; the brand is owned by Suntory Global Spirits.
Why this matters to you. Original is the reference point for the whole brand: Jim Beam Black matures longer, Jim Beam Double Oak is finished in a second barrel, and Jim Beam Rye is a rye whisky, not a bourbon. Flavoured versions with honey or fruit are no longer straight bourbon, even though they carry the same brand. The WHO reminds us: there is no safe dose of alcohol.
Facts
| Alcohol (% vol.) | 40 % ABV (according to Difford's Guide) |
|---|---|
| Minimum maturation | 4 years (according to the producer); no age on the label |
| Raw material | corn (at least 51 %), rye, barley malt; the exact recipe is not disclosed |
| Cask type | new charred oak barrels |
| Legal basis | 27 CFR § 5.143 (USA): straight bourbon, at least 2 years |
How it connects to Spirits
🥃 Jim Beam Original → affects → 🍷 Alcohol and health ← affects ← 🥃 Spirits
Links
- Packed in
- 🍷 Barrel toasting, 🐝 American white oak
- Made from
- 🥃 Rye and corn in whisky
- What it affects
- 🍷 Alcohol and health, 🍷 Drunk driving
- Part of
- 🥃 Jim Beam, 🥃 Bourbon whiskey, 🥃 Straight bourbon whiskey
- Similar and different
- 🥃 Maker's Mark, 🥃 Jim Beam Double Oak, 🥃 Jim Beam Double Oak, 🥃 Jim Beam Rye, 🥃 Jim Beam Rye
Frequently asked questions
Is it true that Jim Beam Original is not aged at all?
No. There is no age on the label, but the producer states 4 years in new charred oak barrels.
What is the strength of Jim Beam Original?
40 % ABV, according to Difford's Guide.
Where is Jim Beam Original made?
In Kentucky; the main distillery is in Clermont.
What to read next
- 🍷 Alcohol and health — Alcohol in any drink is harmful in large amounts, and the risks grow with the quantity.
- 🐝 American white oak — A North American oak that gives wine strong vanilla and coconut notes.
- 🥃 Rye and corn in whisky — Grain in the name of American whiskey: bourbon is at least 51% corn, rye at least 51% rye, corn whiskey at least 80% corn.
- 🍷 Barrel toasting — Heating the inside of a barrel over fire; the degree of toast shapes the wine's taste.
- 🥃 Maker's Mark — Bourbon from Loretto (Kentucky), founded in 1953 by Bill Samuels: 70% corn, 16% wheat, 14% malt; 45% ABV; owned by Suntory Global Spirits.
Similar
🥃 Jim Beam Devil's Cut · 🥃 Jim Beam Black · 🥃 Jim Beam Double Oak · 🥃 Jim Beam Rye · 🥃 Old Forester 100 Proof · 🥃 Old Forester 1870 Original Batch
⚠️ Spirit drinks contain alcohol and are for adults only. Alcohol harms health. Do not drink during pregnancy or before driving; check the label for ingredients and possible allergens.
Sources
- Jim Beam (official): Jim Beam Kentucky Straight Bourbon (aged 4 years in newly charred oak barrels)
- Difford's Guide: Jim Beam Original (White Label) Kentucky Straight Bourbon (40 %, no age statement)
- Beam Distilling: Where is Jim Beam made? (Clermont, Booker Noe Distillery in Boston, aging in Frankfort)
- 27 CFR § 5.143 Standards of identity for whisky (bourbon, rye; straight — min. 2 years), text via Cornell LII
- WHO/Europe: No level of alcohol consumption is safe for our health (04.01.2023)
