towardia Where things come from.
🌐 en

🥃 Woodford Reserve Kentucky Straight Bourbon

Spirit line ✔ Checked: 10.2026 · sources: 4 Updated:

The core release of Woodford Reserve: Kentucky Straight Bourbon, 45.2% ABV (90.4 proof).

Woodford Reserve Kentucky Straight Bourbon is the core release of the Woodford Reserve brand and its best-known expression. According to the official website, it is a Kentucky bourbon at 45.2% ABV, or 90.4 proof. Most people first meet the brand through it, and the other versions build on this base.

Bourbon under the American standard 27 CFR § 5.143 must have at least 51% corn in the mash, be matured in new charred oak barrels, be distilled to no more than 160 proof and enter the barrel at no more than 125 proof. The word “Straight” means at least two years of aging. The official page does not state the exact mash bill or age for this release, so we do not give them. The website describes the taste as rich, with citrus, cinnamon, cocoa and caramel.

Why it matters to you. This release is the reference point: it is the easiest way to compare Woodford Reserve Double Oaked and the other versions, which differ in aging or grain. Read the full name on the label and the strength. The WHO reminds us that there is no safe level of alcohol consumption.

Facts

Legal basis27 CFR § 5.143 (USA), bourbon standard
EU category2 — whisky/whiskey
Raw materialcorn (at least 51%) under the standard; the release's exact mash bill is not stated
Cask typenew charred oak barrels (standard requirement)
Minimum maturationfor Straight, at least 2 years under 27 CFR § 5.143
Alcohol (% vol.)45.2% ABV (90.4 proof)
packed in🍷Oak barrelmade from🥃Rye and corn in w…affects🍷Alcohol and healthaffects🍷Drunk drivingkind of🥃Woodford Reservekind of🥃Bourbon whiskeykind of🥃Straight bourbon …similar🥃Old Forester 86 P…similar🥃Michter's US★1 Ke…🥃towardia.com
Main links. Click a topic to open it.

How it connects to Spirits

🥃 Woodford Reserve Kentucky Straight Bourbon → packed in → 🍷 Oak barrel ← packed in ← 🥃 Spirits

Frequently asked questions

Is this the only bourbon from the brand?

No. Double Oaked is also a bourbon, while Rye, Malt and Wheat are made from other grains and are not bourbons.

What is the strength of this release?

45.2% ABV, or 90.4 proof, according to the official page of the release.

What does Kentucky Straight Bourbon mean?

Bourbon with at least 51% corn in the mash, matured in new charred oak barrels for at least two years under US standards.

What to read next

Similar

🥃 Woodford Reserve Double Oaked · 🥃 Woodford Reserve Wheat · 🥃 Woodford Reserve Malt · 🥃 Woodford Reserve Rye · 🥃 Four Roses Bourbon · 🥃 Four Roses Small Batch

⚠️ Spirit drinks contain alcohol and are for adults only. Alcohol harms health. Do not drink during pregnancy or before driving; check the label for ingredients and possible allergens.

Sources

Also listed under

All topics