towardia Where things come from.
🌐 en

🥃 Pappy Van Winkle's 20 Year

Spirit line ✔ Checked: 10.2026 · sources: 4 Updated:

Wheated Family Reserve bourbon, 45.2% ABV; the Pappy brand began with this age statement in 1994.

Pappy Van Winkle's 20 Year is a wheated bourbon from the Family Reserve line, with a strength of 45.2% ABV. According to VinePair, the 20-year version of 1994 was the first Pappy bottle, and in 1996 the Beverage Testing Institute rated it 99 out of 100. It is a straight bourbon made at Buffalo Trace.

All Van Winkle bourbons use a wheated recipe: wheat replaces rye as the secondary grain, giving a sweeter, softer taste. Since the brand's partnership with Buffalo Trace began in 2002, the origin of the whiskey in the bottle has been discussed: older stocks from Stitzel-Weller may have been included. Despite its name, Difford's Guide does not state an age on its product card, so rely on the label.

Why this matters to you. The 20 Year is weaker than the 23 Year (45.2% against 47.8% ABV) and much weaker than the 15 Year (53.5% ABV), so age does not mean higher strength. Also compare the batch, because demand, according to Whisky Advocate, exceeds supply. The WHO reminds us that there is no safe level of alcohol consumption.

Facts

Year founded20-year version — since 1994 (VinePair)
Legal basisReg. (EU) 2019/787, category 2; in the US — straight bourbon
EU category2 — whisky/whiskey
Raw materialcorn (the base of bourbon) and wheat (wheated recipe)
Minimum maturation20 years by name; Difford's Guide does not state an age
Alcohol (% vol.)45.2% ABV
packed in🍷Oak barrelpacked in🐝American white oakcontains🍷Ethanolaffects🍷Alcohol and healthaffects🍷Drunk drivingkind of🥃Pappy Van Winkle'…kind of🥃Bourbon whiskeysimilar🥃Pappy Van Winkle'…🥃towardia.com
Main links. Click a topic to open it.

How it connects to Spirits

🥃 Pappy Van Winkle's 20 Year → packed in → 🍷 Oak barrel ← packed in ← 🥃 Spirits

Frequently asked questions

Is it true that Pappy 20 Year has no age on the label?

The name says 20 years, but Difford's Guide lists it as having no age statement on its product card. Check the label of the specific bottle.

What is the strength of Pappy Van Winkle's 20 Year?

45.2% ABV (90.4 proof), according to Difford's Guide and Whisky Advocate.

What does 'wheated' bourbon mean?

The secondary grain in the mash is wheat instead of rye; according to VinePair, this gives a sweeter and softer taste.

What to read next

Similar

🥃 Pappy Van Winkle's 23 Year · 🥃 Woodford Reserve Double Oaked · 🥃 Bulleit 10 Year Old Bourbon · 🥃 Bulleit Bourbon · 🥃 George Dickel Barrel Select · 🥃 George Dickel No. 8

⚠️ Spirit drinks contain alcohol and are for adults only. Alcohol harms health. Do not drink during pregnancy or before driving; check the label for ingredients and possible allergens.

Sources

All topics